zaziel
Now. Then. Previous. Next. Random. Ernst. Fallen. Crush. Notes&Quotes. Profile. Rings.
I'tr�m breit vula�oz�o ye spalla ei�tlin nel�ffnes pieqi aummit su berwegr'ra'ao.

The Fourteenth, Part 2

Thursday, Apr. 18, 2002 - 11:30 am
Ap�sl�min ida corbalanyrtne 'ls�o rohl'daathi�m v� nen�a iroyss�rd.

Where did I leave you? With an armful of spider mums, their color a mauve so silvery they almost seem gray, sprawled in a large vase? The Fiend gave me the flowers, last Saturday; he pleased me by remembering I don't like roses. Or I should say, more specifically, I don't like the overworked drudge of the floral industry, the ubiquitous clone: the long-stemmed red rose. To me, two dozen red roses come from a guy who doesn't care, doesn't think, and goes for the easy and the obvious. A single red rose means the same thing, plus he's cheap. Actually, I don't mind cheap, in fact, as a cheapskate myself, I can appreciate cheap, as long as it doesn't come with a lack of imagination.

And if a man gives me ten dozen red roses? Well, I might give him points for enthusiasm. But more likely, I'd let him know, in no uncertain terms, that I would have preferred a $90 gift certificate from Amazon. If that ain't romantic enough for him, he can wrap it around a single red rose.

The mauve spider mums came with gifts. Two new items have been added to my hodgepodge collection of small lidded boxes. One is supposed to be a Russian black lacquer box, but the gaudily painted, botanically incorrect chrysanthemums on the lid look more Mexican than Russian. The other is a round leather box, imprinted in green with a geometric design reminiscent, vaguely, of Mesoamerica, probably intended to be either Aztec or Mayan. It had been a container for coasters, the Fiend is keeping the coasters to use in his art, so he filled the box with Jolly Rancher jelly beans. In the Russian box was a very small book titled Springs of Humor ("A miser and a fat pig will only be of use when dead." "The most important piece of luggage is and remains a joyful heart.") The inscription on the flyleaf read: 'Congratulations! At this very important time for you. Maybe this little book contains some humor which may be helpful for your future. Best wishes! The Stoltzfus Family."

Need I say that the inscription was not in the Fiend's handwriting, and that neither he nor anyone in his family has ever masqueraded as a Stoltzfus? The Fiend's explanation? "It fits in the box. And it only cost 25 cents."

Sigh.

A man after my own heart.

<~>
Ap�sl�min ida corbalan� 'lse nesgla ugar�-cham sa cru ogrulho bat�oltha al�mv�sde.

last eleven:

Resurrection - Wednesday, August 31, 2005
Arts and Letters -
Friday, June 17, 2005
Domestic Obsessions -
Tuesday, April 5, 2005
The Kindness of Strangers -
Tuesday, April 5, 2005
Gone -
Saturday, April 2, 2005
Coming Back, Little By Little -
Saturday, April 2, 2005
Effing Around -
Thursday, March 31, 2005
Explicably Yours -
Wednesday, February 9, 2005
Things Too Innumerable To Mention -
Sunday, January 30, 2005
Mr. Armstrong -
Tuesday, November 23, 2004
The Pope in Our Kitchen -
Saturday, October 2, 2004



<- Z @ D ->

Sa r'ji�o oss�vel meninonceiv �o poshik m�'�nch uscantebatahla o�r musiu o�r muiko.
Copyright � 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 by gcs

This site is best viewed at 1024 by 768 pixels, or 1152 by 864 pixels, with fonts
Times New Roman, Verdana, Book Antiqua and QuantasBroadLight. Click HERE
to add this diary to your list of favorites.































([