zaziel
Now. Then. Previous. Next. Random. Ernst. Fallen. Crush. Notes&Quotes. Profile. Rings.
I'tr�m breit vula�oz�o ye spalla ei�tlin nel�ffnes pieqi aummit su berwegr'ra'ao.

Another Steve

Thursday, Apr. 25, 2002 - 5:00 am
Ap�sl�min ida corbalanyrtne 'ls�o rohl'daathi�m v� nen�a iroyss�rd.

Why do horses smell so sexy?

I don't know if it's the horses that smell sexy as much as it is the horsemen, who smell of horses. And leather. And sweat. And heat. Oh, yeah, heat has a smell. A sandy, salty, sun-baked smell. A dry, yet yeasty smell. The smell of a hot flush of blood under the skin. An entirely arousing smell. When I walk among cowboys, I'm always hard.

I wanna be a cowboy's sweetheart
I wanna learn to rope and to ride
I want to ride o'er the plains and the desert
Out west of The Great Divide
I want to hear the coyotes howlin'
While the sun sinks in the west
I wanna be a cowboy's sweetheart
That's the life that I love best

Embarrassingly enough, I can only walk among them, because I can't ride. I am seized with an intense, weird kind of vertigo when I'm atop a horse. Put me in the saddle and I hyperventilate, palpitate, verticillate, faint and fall off. Within the first five minutes. What makes it weird is I don't suffer from vertigo otherwise. I don't have any problems with heights. As I once told a friend, I can be perched on the top of a 100-foot pine, chainsaw in one hand, cheap cigar in the other, and feel as serene as the Dalai Lama, possessed of more sangfroid than Steve McQueen.

I do hope you know who Steve McQueen is. Or was. I do hope you have seen Bullitt. No? Gee whizz, that's a fuckin' big hole in your education. You can't possibly understand what it means to be cool without studying Mr. McQueen. They don't make movie stars like that anymore. The current Hollywood generation doesn't know how to do cool. It's a lost art. Actors today are all too full of tics and grimaces and pouts and brooding brows. They don't rebel with an adamantine chill. They whine with angsty methodology.

Sometimes, I wish I had been born thirty years before I was.

<~>
Ap�sl�min ida corbalan� 'lse nesgla ugar�-cham sa cru ogrulho bat�oltha al�mv�sde.

last eleven:

Resurrection - Wednesday, August 31, 2005
Arts and Letters -
Friday, June 17, 2005
Domestic Obsessions -
Tuesday, April 5, 2005
The Kindness of Strangers -
Tuesday, April 5, 2005
Gone -
Saturday, April 2, 2005
Coming Back, Little By Little -
Saturday, April 2, 2005
Effing Around -
Thursday, March 31, 2005
Explicably Yours -
Wednesday, February 9, 2005
Things Too Innumerable To Mention -
Sunday, January 30, 2005
Mr. Armstrong -
Tuesday, November 23, 2004
The Pope in Our Kitchen -
Saturday, October 2, 2004



<- Z @ D ->

Sa r'ji�o oss�vel meninonceiv �o poshik m�'�nch uscantebatahla o�r musiu o�r muiko.
Copyright � 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 by gcs

This site is best viewed at 1024 by 768 pixels, or 1152 by 864 pixels, with fonts
Times New Roman, Verdana, Book Antiqua and QuantasBroadLight. Click HERE
to add this diary to your list of favorites.































([