zaziel
Now. Then. Previous. Next. Random. Ernst. Fallen. Crush. Notes&Quotes. Profile. Rings.
I'tr�m breit vula�oz�o ye spalla ei�tlin nel�ffnes pieqi aummit su berwegr'ra'ao.

Back To School

Friday, Aug. 30, 2002 -
Ap�sl�min ida corbalanyrtne 'ls�o rohl'daathi�m v� nen�a iroyss�rd.

I'm supposed to be erecting (ooh!) a tent for our Giant Annual Goodbye-To-Summer Gala Swar-Ray & Blowout Bash, but the tent and the tent-guys haven't arrived yet, so let me see if I can finish this entry that I started writing yesterday.

I've been reading bits and pieces of my diary, trying to settle myself down and get comfy with my own words. Trying to recover my own voice, as this lady would say. Writing imitations of the RFA's prose has put me adrift, somewhat. I usually write with a certain amount of detachment, and write my adventures in much the same way as I would for a fictional character, but I feel like I've strayed farther outside myself than is my wonted habit. It's not an altogether bad thing. I guess I've picked up a new perspective of my writing.... But, egads, it took me almost a week to write that entry 'bout the Percherons.

~

I haven't told you that Jer will be coming home this weekend. But how could I tell you that when I haven't told you he's been away? All summer, he's been in St. Louis, living with his aunt, studying music. I never told you Jer is a musician, did I? A budding virtuoso with a violin, also a versatile percussionist, and not too shabby with a guitar. Big fan of Tan Dun, Kronos Quartet, and such ilk. He's been trying to get me into postmodern music and other weird classical shit. Luckily he's also a big fan of Buddy Guy, Carlos Santana, Stevie Ray Vaughn and other guitar masters, so we have some immediate common ground. He introduced me to Jonny Lang, and I introduced him to Django Reinhardt and John Mayall's Bluesbreakers. (At best, I have callow and haphazard tastes in music, but put a guitar in it and you've got me.)

Jer had an audition with the youth symphony in St. Louis, and there was a real possibility he would not be coming back to us. But he is. I assume his audition failed to gain him a place in the orchestra, but it's just a guess, because I haven't heard a peep from Jer since he phoned me in June to let me know he had arrived safely in St. Louis. For the entire summer, I've received a grand total of two updates on the boy. First one was in early August, when I was alerted by his aunt that Jer's return to California was imminent. The second came from his father on the morning of the day I was expecting to pick Jer up at LAX. Almost at the last minute, Jer had been invited to spend a week on a houseboat floating down the Mississippi. And after that, he figured he'd like to spend a few days in Memphis, visiting a friend he met at summer school. Then he would fly to San Diego for a little vacay with his father, who was plotting to escape from his Lady Wife for a week. The Lady Wife has made no effort to reconcile herself with her son. She pretends he doesn't exist. There's a word for people like that. Several words, in fact. And they're all very bad words that have euphemisms like "bleep" and "#@%&$!!!" The aunt in St. Louis, to whom I've only spoken once, on the phone, volunteered the opinion that Jer's father should divorce his Lady Wife. Well, actually, her exact words were "He should dump the bitch." And this is from the bitch's sister, who impresses me as a real sweetie. She's a widow with two sons in college, and she apparently adores Jer.

What's not to adore?

<~>
Ap�sl�min ida corbalan� 'lse nesgla ugar�-cham sa cru ogrulho bat�oltha al�mv�sde.

last eleven:

Resurrection - Wednesday, August 31, 2005
Arts and Letters -
Friday, June 17, 2005
Domestic Obsessions -
Tuesday, April 5, 2005
The Kindness of Strangers -
Tuesday, April 5, 2005
Gone -
Saturday, April 2, 2005
Coming Back, Little By Little -
Saturday, April 2, 2005
Effing Around -
Thursday, March 31, 2005
Explicably Yours -
Wednesday, February 9, 2005
Things Too Innumerable To Mention -
Sunday, January 30, 2005
Mr. Armstrong -
Tuesday, November 23, 2004
The Pope in Our Kitchen -
Saturday, October 2, 2004



<- Z @ D ->

Sa r'ji�o oss�vel meninonceiv �o poshik m�'�nch uscantebatahla o�r musiu o�r muiko.
Copyright � 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 by gcs

This site is best viewed at 1024 by 768 pixels, or 1152 by 864 pixels, with fonts
Times New Roman, Verdana, Book Antiqua and QuantasBroadLight. Click HERE
to add this diary to your list of favorites.































([